Angular Love Poem

Ice_cubes_openphoto

“Angular Love Poem” by Sharon Rauenzahn

My love for you is cornered, solid, square;
Each surface pushes out and I must dare
To pull them back again. If love we share,
It holds too many opposites to bear.
And so I say Farewell: my love is cold,
And you are hot with youth, and I am old.
That’s four of this our cubic love’s flat planes.
Yet two sides more, they bid me look again:
Your wit and my intelligence complain
At love thrown out for folly, and no gain.
These surfaces outweigh the other four,
And love tossed out the window finds a door
To perfect happiness, where gladly we
Who fail at love, can love Geometry.

Feb. 11, 1996

Leave a Reply

