Poetry Dwarfs

Public domain image, royalty free stock photo from www.public-domain-image.com

“Poetry Dwarfs” by Sharon Rauenzahn
(Remembering “Lens of the World” by R.A. MacAvoy)

Some days my arms are too damn short.
That must be the reason I can’t get these words,
fluttering like birds in head and gut,
down on paper.  It’s too far, and my pencil snapped.
Damn.  If I could just scratch, could scratch
past the surface of the paper into the real heart wood,
scoring in long lines these thoughts, these words
damn bird words flying tight in squawking circles,
dropping crap everywhere but on the page,
then I’d be a poet.

Can’t you trim the wick?  I can’t see my work,
there’s not enough light down here.
Can’t reach the desk, can’t touch ground either;
Standing on giants’ shoulders doesn’t help.

Damn birds.
Some days my arms are just too short.

August 25, 1993 (rev. 9/7/2016)

Leave a Reply

