The Sniper (Colin’s Poem)

sniper
David Douglas Duncan. ‘U.S. Marine snipers work closely in three-man teams.’ 1968

“The Sniper (Colin’s poem)” by Sharon Rauenzahn

If I let myself think of you as
Far away
I’ll lose my edge
My hands might shake
I line up my sights with you
Standing at my shoulder
The baby is pressed to your shoulder
I line up my sights and you
Stand still, as I taught you
Wait, my heart whispers
Wait for the shot
I line up my sights while you are
Still
Waiting
Not far away
Not thinking of leaving me
Not sad
Not having a hard time with the baby
I lean in, lowering my shoulder as
You are here, with me, as
I take the shot
Waiting
Still
I will see you soon
I have to think that way

11/1/2016

Leave a Reply

