Shopping, Christmas Eve

35554951_081bc21c69_o
“Wal-Mart at Night – Menomonee Falls, WI” by Tom Boese, Flickr

“Shopping, Christmas Eve” by Sharon Rauenzahn

Momentarily blinded by the light of the star
Shining down on me from the Walmart sign
I gather my courage, enter in
Seeking, following
Where has my heart led me, again this year?
Looking, as ever, for that one perfect gift

Will it make someone happy?
Knowing only love would lead me here
This day of all days
Searching out that long-awaited, eagerly anticipated
Representation of love

For what else is a gift, any gift
Freely (or expensively) given?
Socks, slippers, this year’s fought-over Furby
Forgotten tomorrow

Yet there is love even here, even at Walmart
One more shopping day before Christmas
I know Christ died
I know
That things are only things
Grass fading, flowers falling

But today, this day made for man
I will be battered and bumped
I will seek and not find
I will wish for something simpler
Something
A little more real

All the time picturing
Little boy Jesus
Playing with Myrrh
Wishing for a bicycle

December, 2005 (rev. 12/7/2018)

Leave a Reply

